Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 19 Next »

Roles in a MyCourses workspace are Oodi-based, manually added or self-enrolled.

Teachers can see Participants listed, with info on roles, groups and last access time.


Oodi-based enrolment

MyCourses and Oodi are integrated. In general, enrolments should be administered in Oodi. 

After students have enrolled to the course in Oodi, they can access the course workspace in a Student role when they next time login to MyCourses. 

Every session (login) in MyCourses starts with an automated Oodi check of the user's access rights to workspaces. 

In addition, the member lists of all MyCourses workspaces are hourly synced from Oodi. This integration means that if a user is added to a course in Oodi, he/she will be added to MyCourses workspace during next login to MyCourses or automatically after one hour the latest.


Inactive students

Student´s status turn to "inactive" in MyCourses workspace and he/she has no access in a student role

  • when the student´s enrolment status in Oodi is either planned, rejected or canceled; or
  • when the student has archived the course registration in Oodi. It is recommended that course enrolment is archived only after the course grades are given in Oodi.

The teacher can remove an inactive student from the user´s list in MyCourses. 


Please note that persons who are marked as a Virkailija for a course level teaching event in Oodi, will get automatically teacher access to the corresponding course workspace - their role is called Workspace AssistantThe role is intended for personnel who may be responsible for supporting course activities.

There is generally no need for enrollment keys. In some cases the teacher may wish to manually add persons with differing roles to the course site.

Add members manually

You can add members also manually

  • Turn editing on → open quick link Enrolled users → Enrol users. OR:
  • Choose Participants on the left side → open the gear → Enrolled users → Enrol users.  

Choose the appropriate role - Student role for students and Teacher role for teaching personnel - for the person you are adding, and use the Enrolment options search. Click Enrol on the person you wish to add and when you're done Finish enrolling users.

Users, including HAKA-users, can be enrolled to course workspaces manually only if they have at least once logged in to MyCourses.

You may also change participant's roles from the Roles -column and pressing the plus -icon.

Self enrolment

In self enrolment, students get access to a workspace with an enrolment key. With group enrolment key, students also get a group membership in a workspace. Time-based limitations can be set.

Self enrolment is used in workspaces with no Oodi-integration.



  • No labels