Child pages
  • Quick Guide for Wiki Space Administrators
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 9 Next »

Quick Guide for Wiki Space Administrator

This guide is based on the similar guide of Helsinki University, http://wiki.helsinki.fi/x/1gw.

1. Setting up a Wiki Space

First check the rules of TKK wiki service! Then consider whether you need a personal Wiki space or if you want to start administrating a Wiki space shared by, e.g. a workgroup.

  • Personal Wiki spaces are created from personal profile pages, for details see Quick Guide for All Users.
  • Shared Wiki spaces, so-called "global spaces" can only be created by TKK employees by using the Create a Space tool.

2. Prepare the Wiki Space for Use

The use of a shared Wiki space will go more smoothly, if you prepare your Wiki space at first:

  1. Define the purpose of the Wiki space briefly and clearly: why it exists and what it is meant for. Encourage users to participate in creating and modifying pages; do not make pages "too complete.
  2. Write more specific instructions in the space and add links to additional instructions.
  3. It is worth defining the copyrights of the material to be created in the space. 

    Linkkivinkki

    Wikipatterns offers clear instructions on the implementation of a wiki space: http://www.wikipatterns.com


3. Administration and Viewing of the Wiki Space

As the creator of the Wiki space you are automatically also the Space Administrator.  You can modify the restrictions for viewing the page, but please note the following rules:

important rules

  • Do not remove space admin rights of yourself!
  • Do not grant anonymous users other permissions than to view and comment on the content.
  • Monitor your space regularly. When needed, restrict user permissions, and in case of serious problems, contact page administrator.


To modify space permissions, click Browse Space > Space Admin > Permissions (See picture below - click to enlarge picture).

3.1 Managing Groups

All spaces are open when created, which means that all registered users ("confluence users") can read and comment on them. If you want access to be restricted only to those with TKK logins, add the group tkk_users, tkk_staff and/or tkk_student. You can remove groups from your space by removing all their access rights.

  1. To assign permissions go to: Browse space > Space admin > Permissions
  2. Choose "Edit Permissions" under "Groups"
  3. If you want to add a group, write the name of the group under the heading "Groups" where it is written "Grant permission to" and choose "Add".
  4. Add or remove permissions.
  5. Save changes by clicking "Save All"
  6. Check that everything was done correctly

    If you want to delete the entire group, unselect all the boxes and save!



    HAKA vinkki

    The user group haka_users consists of reliably identified users whose home organisation is a Finnish school.

3.2 Individual users

It is often necessary to grant permissions separately for each user in a group, especially if you want the wiki space to be restricted, or want to grant certain users more comprehensive rights than to the whole group.

Pick the users as follows:

  1. Go to permissions: Browse space > Space admin > Permissions
  2. Select "Edit Permissions" under the heading "Individual users"
  3. Write the usernames one by one or separated by commas to the field "Users to add:"x
  4. You can also use a search tool: select the magnifying glass image to find a username either by typing part of the name or the user's email address.
  5. Select "Add"
  6. If you cannot find the person you are looking for, he probably has not signed up for wiki yet.
  7. Add or remove the necessary permissions.
  8. Save all the changes by clicking "Save All"
  9. Check that everything was done correctly.

    If you want to remove a user from the wiki space permanently, unselect all boxes and reload the page.



3.3 Anonymous users

All wiki spaces are by default collaborative spaces, which means that they allow 'anonymous access', meaning access by anonymous users. However, you can at will restrict permissions so that only members and member groups may view them, by removing permission to anonymous access:

  1. Go to permissions: Browse space > Space admin > Permissions
  2. Select "Edit Permissions" under the heading "Anonymous Access"
  3. Unselect the permission to view, "View"
  4. Unselect the permission to comment, "Comments - Create"
  5. Save all the changes by clicking "Save All"
  6. Check that everything was done correctly.

    Anonymous users shall only be granted permission to read and comment!


4. Inviting Users to Join the Wiki

There is no separate application for inviting users. You can invite new users, e.g., by sending this kind of message:

Welcome to the wiki space of course x / project x!
I have set up a new wiki space called x. It can be accessed on: http://wiki.tkk.fi/display/X/

TKK users will sign in using a user account and password granted by the Computing Centre. If your home organisation is a member of HAKA identity federation, you can log in using HAKA authentication. Visitors can create a username using their e-mail address at  http://wiki.tkk.fi/signup.action"

For more detailed instructions, please see http://wiki.tkk.fi/display/support/Pikaopas

Welcome!













5. Backup Copies and Archiving

The space admin is responsible for making backups of the wiki space on a regular basis.


To make a backup copy:

  1. Log into your space
  2. Select "Browse Space"
  3. Select "Advanced"
  4. Select "Export Space"
  5. Select "Export Format = XML Output"
  6. Tick all the pages (plus comments and attachments)
  7. Select "Export"
  8. Save the file somewhere for safekeeping x

    If you want to restore a space of which a backup copy has been made, please contact the wiki service administrators: webmaster 'at' tkk 'dot' fi


6. Removing the Wiki Space

It is definitely worth archiving the space before removing it, because the removal is irreversible!


Consider carefully whether removing the space is necessary, and notify all participants of the removal in good time (including visitors).

If you are certain you want to remove the space, go to Space Admin: Browse Space > Space Admin > Remove Space

  • No labels