Oodi-based user roles
In general, user roles should be administered in Oodi.
After students have registered for the course in Oodi, they can access the course workspace in a Student role next time they log in to MyCourses.
Every session (login) in MyCourses starts with an automated Oodi check of the user's access rights to workspaces.
In addition, the member lists of all MyCourses workspaces are synchronised hourly at Oodi. This means that if a user is added to a course in Oodi, he/she will be added to the MyCourses workspace during his/her next login to MyCourses, or automatically after one hour at the latest.
There is generally no need to use self-enrollment feature, because students and teachers get roles based on Oodi information. In some cases the teacher may wish to manually add persons to the course site and assign different user roles to them.
Adding members manually
You can add members to your workspace manually as follows:
Users, including HAKA-users, must log in to MyCourses at least once before they can can be enrolled in a course workspace.
You may also change a participant's role in the Roles -column and clicking the plus - -icon.
In self-assigned roles (called "self-enrolment" in MyCourses), students get access to a workspace by using an enrolment key (i.e. enrolment code or password given by a teacher). The group enrolment key also gives students group membership in a workspace. Time-based limitations can be set.