MyCourses workspaces are open by default. Guests (non-logged-in users) have read-only access to workspaces.
Teachers can restrict some access rights in their workspaces, but they cannot hide their course workspaces completely.
Note: By default, all visitors can see material in a workspace. Access to activities, e.g. assignments or discussions, is for course students, teachers, and assistants only.
How to restrict workspace to Aalto-/Haka-logged-in users only?
Guest access is allowed by default. If guests are allowed to course workspace also Google will index objects that are openly available. Removing Guest access from course space Google will not index any content from that space.
This icon on the upper right corner of the workspace shows that guest access is allowed in the workspace.
You can restrict access to logged-in users only by disabling guest access in your workspace:
On the course front page menu -> Click Participants -> select Enrolment methods from the drop-down menu → Guest access → Hide (eye icon)
I do not need to restrict the whole workspace but some objects or sections only. How do I know if the object has restrictions?
When you are in the Teacher role in a workspace you will see a restriction notice on all objects that have restrictions. On a single section/page restriction information is shown under the Page header (see image).
How to restrict section/topic or resource access to course students only
You can make an object (a section/topic or a resource) inaccessible to all but your course students (with the exception of teachers and assistants, who will still be able to see everything in the workspace). Students are a group of people in the course workspace that have the role of "student". See a list of people and roles in your course front page middle navigation → Participants.
This is done by changing the access settings of the specific object, as described below (for detailed description, see Restricting access).
To change the access settings for a section/topic:
Edit mode on (the upper right corner), and then near the topic see three dots -> Click open →Edit section → Restrict access → Role → Student.
To change the access settings in a resource:
Open the resource (e.g., a Folder) → click Settings → Restrict access → Add restriction → Role → Student.
How to restrict access to Aalto users only
In some cases, you may want to limit access to Aalto users only.
In a section/topic, Turnediting on, then near the top of the topic click three dotts → Edit section → Restrict access → Add restriction → User profile →ChooseUser account contains → Write aalto.fi (see the picture below).